Vibration and tone of my Dulcimer as I play...

Mark Hoskey
Mark Hoskey
@mark-hoskey
9 years ago
5 posts

I've tried to tilt my dulcimer up as described here. The instrument does resonate much better that way but certain fingerings are also more challenging. Just have to stick with it I guess. Somewhere between the angle of the tilt and how much you point the dulcimer away from you seems to be the key.

Someone mentioned putting it on a hard surface like a table top. I'll have to try that. I'm a telephone tech of 30 years. Putting the phone (an old phone with REAL bells) on a hard surface was a good cure for customers who were hard of hearing and often made the difference in hearing the phone or not hearing the phone when it rang.

Gary Major
Gary Major
@gary-major
9 years ago
11 posts

Thanks again.

Maybe I am getting the angle wrong. I play banjo and Guitar and possibly that is why I try to hold it at the wrong angle. When I chord it seems harder also. Will have to chat with you one day. If you can message me or e-mail me your skype name and the best time to contact you.

Have a great day.39.gif

Linda W. Collins
Linda W. Collins
@linda-w-collins
9 years ago
25 posts

Hi Gary,

Too hard in what way? It takes some "fiddling" to get the angle right - too great an angle from the horizontal of the lap, and the left hand has a hard time with fretting. Was that the problem you had? This has worked for all my students, though the angle varies, depending on the person and the style/size/shape of their dulcimer. If you want to Skype sometime, I'll talk you through it.

Linda

Gary Major said:

Thanks Linda.

I tried that and found it too hard for me to play. Great idea though and I think it may work for others also.113.gif

Gary Major
Gary Major
@gary-major
9 years ago
11 posts

Thanks Linda.

I tried that and found it too hard for me to play. Great idea though and I think it may work for others also.113.gif

Linda W. Collins
Linda W. Collins
@linda-w-collins
9 years ago