purpose of design features on a MD

folkfan
@folkfan
14 years ago
357 posts
I like the look of your board, Robin. It looks like it would work quite well.I haven't made one for a specific instrument, as my board is adjustable to fit all sizes, which I have.Figured out that one board for 14 instruments was better than having 14 boards and trying to remember which one fit which instrument. At my age, I'd be all day just matching the critters up. hehehehehee Robin Clark said:
Hi D.T.

Here are some photos of the board. I simply cut it from a piece of ply. It really only took me an hour or so to build. I didn't put much time into it as I wasn't sure if it would work - but I've been using it every day for the last 9 months!
Dusty Turtle
Dusty Turtle
@dusty
14 years ago
1,729 posts
Great job, Robin! The only possom board I've held in my hands was a large and awkward piece of rectangular wood. I couldn't imagine playing with that on my lap. But yours is clearly tailored specifically for your dulcimer. You've inspired me. Perhaps the next free weekend I get I'll have to fashion one of my own.Thanks for the pictures.D.T. Robin Clark said:
Hi D.T.

Here are some photos of the board. I simply cut it from a piece of ply. It really only took me an hour or so to build. I didn't put much time into it as I wasn't sure if it would work - but I've been using it every day for the last 9 months!

I use a strap on my MD and the board and MD sit together snuggly because of those little flanges at each end.

Robin

Dusty Turtle said:
Robin, might I ask what the dimensions of your possom board are? I had never really thought about using one, largely because I mainly play alone so volume isn't an issue. But your description makes me wonder how my dulcimer would sound with a possom board. I play with a strap and can only imagine putting a small board underneath.

D.T.

Robin Clark said: