How to get adhesive residue off a fretboard?

steve104c
@steve104c
2 years ago
11 posts

I recently found a dulcimer @ an antique store in Texas and had to do some repairs. I used spray can lacquer for music instruments, bought @ Rockler, on the top and back of the dulcimer and orange oil on the fretboard. Be careful when using GooGone. If you have acrylic nails, it will melt them. I have some experience with luthier projects. Also have a lot of luthier tools and can repair most hand wood instruments. 

ocean-daughter
@ocean-daughter
3 years ago
45 posts

I wanted to give an update.  I was using this dulcimer during some Quarantune workshops, and while listening to the instructor(s) I was kind of idly scraping at the adhesive with my fingernail  Well, by the end of the second workshop, the adhesive was just about gone!  I rubbed at the remains with my finger to finish the job.  The fretboard looks great now, and I'm happy to say there were no rectangles to show where the fretboard had darkened around the labels. 

On the subject of adhesive, I have another dulcimer, a Black Mountain by Dave Johnston, that had residue where a strip of duct tape had been put across the back for some reason.  (It came to me via eBay, so the prior history is a mystery.)  I tried a bit of cooking oil on that, and also scraped with an old credit card, which was quite effective.  The dulcimer needs refinishing, so I am thinking of contacting Mr. Johnston to ask for his advice. 

ocean-daughter
@ocean-daughter
3 years ago
45 posts

Thank you all! And Strumelia, I appreciate the advice about careful application.  I wouldn't have thought about that danger. 

Dusty, I was concerned about the fretboard having lighter rectangles under the stickers, but that doesn't seem to be the case.  So I was thankful for that!

Strumelia
Strumelia
@strumelia
3 years ago
2,248 posts