The Power of Music

phil
@phil
12 years ago
129 posts
Went to visit my Mom yesterday at the nursing home. I had George my dulcimer (it came with that name so I kept it).I was standing in the hall waiting to get into my Mom's room. she has become wheelchair bound over the years.. when another woman walked up and asked if I was there to play music. I said I was there to play for my Mom. I felt ashamed after I said it could see the disappointment in her eyes. Now I'm just a beginner and maybe can play two or three songs worth anything in my opinion, if I am lucky. Played for about 30 minutes give or take for my Mom. Seems like for her she don't care how many missed notes I play she likes it anyway.As I was getting ready to leave I was taking the shortcut to the door by cutting through the dinning room I didn't want to disappoint anymo4re people. Boy talk about what goes around comes around. there was a bunch of people sitting up to play bingo. As soon as they seen my case they didn't bother to ask they assumed I was there to play for them, they stopped setting up for bingo turned their chairs to the face the front of the room. What ya going to do when there's at lest 20 people looking at you to play something for them and you know there's now more on the way.I did the only thing I could do and live with I went to the front and pulled out George and lucky for me I had a bunch of sheet music with me. some I had yet to even try to pay yet. Boy I was wishing I had one of my Guitars with me instead of my Dulcimer, or at lest one of my Native American flutes. Took a deep breath and went to work without any kind of a set list. I started with Scotland the Brave, the crippled Spanish Fandango then on to a couple that went aq lot better This land is your land witch got them to singing and blow'n the wind and then some hymns They clapped along they laughed( I have been blessed with the gift of gab Plus I am a decent adliber.) they tapped their toes. It didn't last long maybe 30 m