New player / New purchase / Wellborn dulcimer

Spam1977
Spam1977
@spam1977
3 years ago
1 posts

I'm new to fotmd, but I discovered this forum thread when I was googling Fred Wellborn, Sr. to see if I could learn more about my dulcimer. Let me tell you what I know.

I purchased mine as a Western Carolina University student from Balsam Dulcimer Gallery in Waynesville, NC in 1996. I was told that Mr. Wellborn made dulcimers that supplied several music stores in the Blue Ridge area. Sadly, he died of a cardiac event while delivering some instruments to a store in or around Asheville in 1997. 

I have enjoyed my curly maple dulcimer all these years. It was well-made. My only regret was that he used cheap plastic tuning pegs. One day I intend to replace them. I know this is an old thread, but hope you're enjoying your instrument--you had a good find.

All the best, Todd

Wmacky
Wmacky
@wmacky
5 years ago
18 posts

Ken Hulme:

There are photos of two different instruments there... one with a walnut back, one showing a maple back with a thin walnut 'racing stripe'.  One with a maple fretboard, the other with a walnut fretboard.

Hi Ken,

A couple posts back I stated that I had  purchased a second dulcimer. The maple backed pictures were posted at the beginning of this thread. I did notice that if your looking at pictures and start scrolling them, the forum will show all attached pictures from the entire thread. I thought that might be confusing!

updated by @wmacky: 03/18/19 10:11:58AM
Richard Streib
Richard Streib
@richard-streib
5 years ago
234 posts

Wmacky, you have purchased a beautiful instrument. Congrats. I saw it on ebay but did not pursue it.