Is this dulcimer possibly a Cripple Creek?

marg
@marg
6 years ago
538 posts

The Dulcimer Factory dulcimers are close in design. John Naylar & his wife learned to build theirs from cripple creek. They are well made if you get an older one before they sold the shop

marg
@marg
6 years ago
538 posts

I am looking at an older hour glass deep cripple creek, the sound is beautiful and seems to be in perfect condition.

Gale A Barr
Gale A Barr
@gale-a-barr
6 years ago
55 posts

Hi all - thanks for the replies. I am not a beginner but just wondered about the possible origins of this dulcimer. 

joe sanguinette
joe sanguinette
@joe-sanguinette
6 years ago
74 posts

the seller probably bought the instrument in manitou springs near colorado springs.  it's a cripple creek aspen model made of baltic

birch plywood and probably sold new for around the asking price.  go with dusty's advice and buy one he reccomends.

Dusty Turtle
Dusty Turtle
@dusty-turtle
6 years ago
1,455 posts

If you search through old forum discussions here at FOTMD, you will find two or three describing serious problems with Cripple Creek dulcimers.  Apparently several years ago they were making quality instruments, but that quality has been inconsistent (to be kind) in recent years.

One discussion is here and an even older one is here .  I would avoid buying a Cripple Creek dulcimer unless you can play it first and ensure its quality.

In addition to Bill Berg, David "Harpmaker" Lynch also makes a very solid and affordable beginner dulcimer which he sells for $125.  Either of those options would be better than a mystery dulcimer from Ebay.

--
Dusty T., Northern California
Site Moderator

As a musician, you have to keep one foot back in the past and one foot forward into the future.
-- Dizzy Gillespie

updated by @dusty-turtle: 09/28/15 02:08:48AM
Rob N Lackey
Rob N Lackey
@rob-n-lackey
6 years ago
421 posts