What's a Noter-Drone dulcimer?....

Ken Hulme
@ken-hulme
10 months ago
1,460 posts

Yep, I prefer taller fretboards too -- 1" rather than the common 3/4".  I'm a finger-on-top stylist.

Robin Thompson
@robin-thompson
10 months ago
872 posts

@annie-deeley If not for Everything Dulcimer and FOTMD, noter play would not have experienced a renaissance, methinks.  Those of us making "porch music" using a noter on a dulcimer have learned lots from one another through the sites.  thumbsup (I'm a thumb-on-top-of-the-noter player.) nod 

I own two dulcimers built with taller fretboards to accomodate noter play-- see parenthetical comment above.  More room between my knuckles and the top of the dulcimer.  :)

--
Robin T
one of the Moderators here :)
Keep a song in your heart!
Annie Deeley
@annie-deeley
10 months ago
84 posts

Robin, Strumelia, Robin Thompson -it is in large part your terrific playing that is allowing the music to sing for itself. Thank you, and all the other players who post on this amazing site!

Jim Yates
@jim-yates
10 months ago
56 posts

I have some trouble playing noter style, so I often play drone style with my fingers.  When I do use a noter, I keep the first knuckle of my left index finger against the side of the fretboard to keep it in line.  I use a 1/4 inch dowel or a noter that I was given after a workshop in Kingston.
I have almost abandoned drone style, but I love to hear it played well, so this thread may get me back to it, though I love harmonizing on the drone strings too.

Strumelia
@strumelia
10 months ago
1,764 posts

So many great and useful points there Robin.  nod

As to your last point, I would venture to happily say that time is pretty much here now.

--
Site Owner

Those irritated by grain of sand best avoid beach.
-Strumelia proverb c.1990

updated by @strumelia: 09/05/16 12:32:52PM
Robin Clark
@robin-clark
10 months ago
352 posts

Hi Ken,