Kirtan for Dulcimer anyone?

iiloveMD
iiloveMD
@iilovemd
7 years ago
6 posts

Hi, I am back. Thanks for the chord chart. I have been using chord chart books with dulcimer for almost ten years now, my brain simply works better with tabs. I played with the Om Namah Shivaya version Salt Springs sent - sound nice! I also finally purchased a capo and am loving the new range. So, am making some headway. When I have some Kirtan tabbed, I will put it up here. 

Happy Playing!

Annie Deeley
Annie Deeley
@annie-deeley
7 years ago
49 posts

Salt-springs, thank you for posting this chord chart! I was just at a place of needing one, and voila!! Typical fotmd magic!

Salt Springs
Salt Springs
@salt-springs
7 years ago
199 posts

Chord chart for dulcimer by David Beede is here:

http://www.davidbeede.com/simpledulcimerchords.htm

Salt Springs
Salt Springs
@salt-springs
7 years ago
199 posts

Hi IIshana.........I have tried tab edit, but alas I am too slow to figure it out.....I'll bow to your expertise with that concoction of buttons and stuff.   I have found the chords for  OM Namah Shivaya more or less worked out by players far smarter than I.  Here is a link to some guitar chords:

http://easybhajans.blogspot.com/

However, for almost all the traditional versions that you will find you are going to need a 1 1/2 fret.  Now, all is not lost because those can be added by a luthier or you can use what I call the Jessica Coumeau method, who incidentally is a genius on the MD.  Appears she took a piece of wire or bass string about a 1/2 inch and placed it at the 1 1/2 point and using some Scotch tape held it in place.  I would also think that DGdd would be your optimal tuning for that one.  David Beede another phenominal player posts this chord chart for all sorts of tunings..........I found it very helpful.

Now to be perfectly honest...........chord playing fine, but I really get a hoot and holler out of drone and noter.

updated by @salt-springs: 03/31/16 02:38:10PM
iiloveMD