Bill Robison
Bill Robison
@bill-robison
last year
36 posts

Dwain,

I moved the nut toward the scroll .12" , set the location of the 6 1/2 fret by using the corresponding note on the middle string.  The strings are 0.12, 0.12, 0.14, 0.12, and 0.24. Even though the measured locations are not exactly according to the fret calculator, it notes true  and checks in tune with harmonics.  It is a very easy playing  instrument with a bold sound.  I do think I will change the middle string to a .016 size, it has a slight twang . That may be caused by slot in the nut or bridge, will check that first.

All I have been able to find out about Davis dulcimers is what seems to be common info on the internet  and a little info from a man in London who has  at least a few of Bill's dulcimers. 

Thanks again for your thoughts and directions.  I am a relative newbie to dulcimers, I got my first one about 10 years ago after I retired the second time. I didn't build my first one until I turned 74, am now 81 and have built 131. 

Bill R

Dwain Wilder
Dwain Wilder
@dwain-wilder
last year
55 posts

Good! keep us posted on your work with this instrument. Know anything more about Davis?

Here is a tip on finding out how low to get the saddle:

First check to see that the frets are level. To do that, use a good quality set of machinist squares or combination squares. Choose sizes that will span the frets three at a time. Start with setting the blade of a square across frets 1-2-3 and see if the blade of the square rocks on the 2 fret Check on both ends of the frets and the middle.

If it does, that fret is high. Grasp the dulcimer by the fretboard (being careful not to let fingernails dig into the top!) and lift it slightly off the table so you can hammer the fret without having the top get the force of the blow.