Kimberly C.
Kimberly C.
@kimberly-c
9 years ago
19 posts

Thanks, Don and Ken! I'll be sure to pass the info along to my sister. Smile.gif

Ken Hulme
Ken Hulme
@ken-hulme
9 years ago
1,822 posts

Second vote here for Harpmaker's Student model. I've been messing around with dulcimer for nearly 40 years; played hundreds of different instruments, and IMHO there's not a better dulcimer out there in that $100-$150 price range. I own one that he slightly customized for me a couple years back. It's my 'go to' general purpose dulcimer. Also, he has a trade-in policy if your sister eventually wants something even nicer.

Don Tyo
Don Tyo
@don-tyo
9 years ago
10 posts

Kim, Flat creek Dulcimer in Hardy, Ar. makes a student model box dulcimer for $110. I haven't had my hands on one myself but you are only a 2.5 hour drive from Hardy. That instrument has a 28 7/16 inch vsl very much like your Mcspadden. Just a thought.....

http://www.flat-creek.com/instruments.htm

Don...

Kimberly C.
Kimberly C.
@kimberly-c
9 years ago
19 posts

Thanks, Robin! I'll send that link to Kelley. And I'm goinig to make sure she signs up here on FOTMD!! Smile.gif

Robin Thompson
Robin Thompson
@robin-thompson
9 years ago
1,182 posts

Hey, Kim! David Lynch's Sweet Woods student model is $125 and I've heard nothing but good things about it. Dave's a member here and so is his sister (folkfan). You can see a picture by scrolling down this page:

http://www.sweetwoodsinstruments.com/dulcimers.htm

Kimberly C.
Kimberly C.
@kimberly-c
9 years ago
19 posts

I know if I scrounged around enough on this site, I could probably find where people have made recommendations for dulcimers, but it's just easier to post the question again. Grin.gif