Slight bow in back of dulcimer.

Joolsy
Joolsy
@joolsy
5 years ago
7 posts
Thanks John. Baritone, 4 string equidistant, chromatic etc etc, the dulcimer bug has definitely got me.
John C. Knopf
John C. Knopf
@john-c-knopf
5 years ago
385 posts

So, full steam ahead!  Congratulations on building your first dulcimer.  You'll get lots of ideas for future ones now.

Joolsy
Joolsy
@joolsy
5 years ago
7 posts
Thank you guys, I was hoping for this response!.
I added kerfing to make the joints stronger & as I said earlier, I love the vibrato achieved by gently rocking the dulcimer from side to side when playing.
I play slow fingerpicking ballads mostly.
I'd thought about forming a bowed back by making it from 2 pieces & shaping the braces, but in the end decided not to change too much from the original design as it's my first build - I expected some kind of learning curve!
I just need to sand, finish & put the tuners etc on, and decide whether to fit the LR Baggs pick up.
Ken Longfield
Ken Longfield
@ken-longfield
5 years ago
1,073 posts

Since the fretboard is level I do not see a problem with playing it on your lap. As long as the glue joints are solid I do not see a problem with it coming apart. Some dulcimer builders put a curve on the bottom intentionally.

Ken

"The dulcimer sings a sweet song."

Ken Hulme
Ken Hulme
@ken-hulme
5 years ago
2,111 posts

Some builders actually build-in a bowed back -- the idea that the curve acts as a kind of projector for the sound.

Joolsy
Joolsy
@joolsy
5 years ago
7 posts
Thanks John.
I don't mind it having a slightly bowed back as I play with it on my lap and use a gentle rocking motion for slow vibrato.
It was more a structural concern really.
John C. Knopf
John C. Knopf
@john-c-knopf
5 years ago
385 posts

Joolsy,

You could try sanding the back flat if the bow is minor, or you could glue 3 feet on the back like they did in the old days.

Joolsy
Joolsy
@joolsy
5 years ago
7 posts

Hi all.