Scott Allen
Scott Allen
@scott-allen
11 years ago
24 posts

Cindi, I've been playing at Bluegrass jams for a few years now and am actually in a BG band with my dulcimer. I usually use the capo and if I have to play a song in a different key than I'm used to, say from D to A, I try to just move the tab up the keyboard so to speak. I noodle around until it's right in that key. If you know the song well, it's not so hard to do. Good luck!

Scott

Ken Hulme
Ken Hulme
@ken-hulme
11 years ago
2,113 posts

Cindi -- don't let they fact that they have to read tab bother you. There's nmo law sez you hafta read tab! Memorize the songs, if that works for you, and blow them away. i don't read tab or SMN. I learn by ear and play from memory - couple of hundred songs at last count. IMHO a club is not the place to learn new music. It's a place to practice music, and practice playing, together, which should be fun.

For a nursing home "concert" you only need maybe a dozen songs total -- 3-4 that everybody plays together; 2-3 some by this duet, 2-3 by that trio and at least one solo each. BTDT many times over the years.

Robin Clark
Robin Clark
@robin-clark
11 years ago
239 posts

Here is a bit of a radical idea for your 3rd old dulcimer Cindi. How about stringing it up with 4 melody strings (4 x 0.010) and tuning them all to 'd' so you have a dulcimer in d,d,dd like a Galax dulcimer is tuned. It may sound crazy but for sessions you won't miss the bass strings as the other instruments (like guitar) will over power your bass string anyway. In d,d,dd your dulcimer will 'froth' along at the top of mix providing a very audible rhythm. If you listen to some of the tunes played by Phyllis Gaskins with her string band you'll hear how this tuning works when played with others.