One buzz - 2nd fret, bass string. Driving me crazy. :) Any ideas to fix?

Brian G.
Brian G.
@brian-g
13 years ago
94 posts

Hi all,

I just wanted to post back with the resolution and thank you all - I just restrung the dulcimer going "up one" with each string. No more buzz and dulcimer sounds a little fuller also. So thank you again. I really appreciate you taking the time to help me out.

Kind regards,

Brian

Brian G.
Brian G.
@brian-g
13 years ago
94 posts
Thank you Bobby. That makes a lot of sense.
Brian G.
Brian G.
@brian-g
13 years ago
94 posts

Hello all. Thank you for your replies, I definitely appreciate you taking the time.

Tom - I will definitely search also. (Apologies for not thinking to do it first.)

John - "technical" might have been the word wrong choice. I am a scientist by training, and I like detailed technical things. My real issue is I don't have the *practical* skills to work with wood or build an instrument, so I have much respect for you guys who can actually create a beautiful musical instrument from scratch. I imagine it must be an incredibly satisfying thing to do.

One thing right off the bat that seems counterintuitive is why going to a heavier string would help. It would seem to me that by going with a thicker string, you'd *increase* the likelihood of buzzing because there is simply more string available to hit a fret and as a result. (And wouldn't a thicker string need more room to vibrate also, compounding the problem?) Obviously, I'm wrong about this, and I don't doubt you all for one minute; I just don't understand *why* I'm wrong, exactly. I definitely have some research to do. :)

Thank you all again. I will try what you've suggested. If I still can't get rid of this buzz, I'll follow Ken's suggestion.103.gif

John Henry
John Henry
@john-henry
13 years ago
258 posts
113.gif 113.gif 113.gif 113.gif
Ken Hulme
Ken Hulme
@ken-hulme
13 years ago
2,123 posts