6 years ago
2 posts

Thank you all for answering my questions. This helps me out allot. nod

Strumelia
Strumelia
@strumelia
6 years ago
2,255 posts

If a total beginner is told to 'count your frets' then they'd likely be including both the 6 and the 6.5 fret when counting-  thus thinking that the repeat octave is the C#.  Most beginners don't yet know that they should count EITHER the 6 OR the 6.5 fret when 'counting frets'.. but not count both.  I think it really helps to look at a picture:

dadtuningchart.jpg

--
Site Owner

Those irritated by grain of sand best avoid beach.
-Strumelia proverb c.1990
Skip
Skip
@skip
6 years ago
359 posts

Count your frets. Fret 7 is the repeat octave of the open strings. You show the C# [DB] as the 7th fret and D as the 8th fret. You included the C and the C#. One is for the D scale [C#] and one is for the G scale [C]. The 6+ fret allows playing a D scale, in DAd tuning, starting at the open string instead of the 3rd fret. This is because the frets are placed in a series of steps/half steps. Steps are the wide spaces. Half steps are the narrow spaces.

G scale = 3-4-5-6-7-8-9

D scale = 0-1-2-3-4-5-6+

updated by @skip: 08/10/18 10:48:38AM
Ken Longfield
Ken Longfield
@ken-longfield
6 years ago
1,090 posts

I see from my friends here you have received all the help you need on this issue. Enjoy your dulcimer. Have fun playing it. Anymore questions, don't hesitate to ask.

Ken

"The dulcimer sings a sweet song."

Strumelia
Strumelia
@strumelia
6 years ago
2,255 posts

Ray D:

I have it tuned to DAD. When I fret the melody strings closest to me they progress down the fretboard E, G flat, G, A, B C, D flat, D. Does that sound right to everyone. I am new to the dulcimer and want to learn how to play. I  have attached a picture of my dulcimer if that will help.

It looks and sounds like your frets are fine.

I think people are making this more complicated than what you are asking and confused about.