What’s your favourite playing style and why?

tpatts
tpatts
@tatts
5 years ago
9 posts

Thanks for your replies folks, really interesting mix of styles and approaches! Sorry I’ve not replied earlier, I’ve been building my second dulcimer - a 20”vsl elliptical design. After a bit of tweaking with the tuning it now sounds lovely and bright!

I love the versatility of the dulcimer and I’m beginning to understand that different songs work better with different styles (fingerpicked, strum and drones etc)

whateversusan
whateversusan
@susan-bigelow
5 years ago
2 posts

I started playing about two months ago, and so far I play a combination of fingerdancing and chord-melody, depending on how well I know a song and what I feel like doing. Since I mostly play Appalachian tunes this works well for me. I use a pick, though I'm still experimenting with which one is right for me. 

Don Grundy
Don Grundy
@don-grundy
5 years ago
188 posts
I prefer using my fingers for strumming and picking but I don’t get as precise a sound without a pick.
Kevin Keating
Kevin Keating
@kevin-keating
5 years ago
13 posts
I tend to pick with my index finger, both strumming chords and fingerpicking. Occasionally I’ll use a pick but I don’t feel like I have as much control.
Bob
Bob
@bob
5 years ago
86 posts

Finger picking, usually in the late evening when the kids are asleep and it's time to wind-down. Generally though, I'd rather be building one than playing one.

Ballad Gal
Ballad Gal
@ballad-gal
5 years ago
34 posts