My biggest 'do-over' wish in learning music

Ken Longfield
Ken Longfield
@ken-longfield
13 years ago
1,073 posts
My do-over would be to not drop my violin lessons. I really should have stuck with it, but I was very immature and did not practice.
Ken Hulme
Ken Hulme
@ken-hulme
13 years ago
2,111 posts
Makes yer dulcimer kinda soggy doesn't it?Grin.gif
Paul Certo
Paul Certo
@paul-certo
13 years ago
242 posts

It's not the destination that matters, it's the journey. I have been playing guitar since 1966, and there still isn't time to learn all the songs I want to learn. Dividing my time among several instruments doesn't make it simpler, but even if I concentrated on one, there are always new things to learn.Just enjoy every minute of it.

Paul

Sam
Sam
@sam
13 years ago
169 posts
Your comment really strikes home with me. I will never be an accomplished player ... but ... I am learning to strum just the melody to some songs I like. If I don't progress any farther, I can at least enjoy the music I CAN make on my dulcimer. I'm happy with that.

folkfan said:
I wish I'd discovered the dulcimer earlier since it is an instrument that I can play in spite of the way my brain is wired. In grade school, I pretty much gave up on the idea of actually learning to play an instrument and now there isn't enough time to learn all the songs I'd like to learn, but I do enjoy what I have learned.

--
The Dulcimer. If you want to preserve it, jam it!
folkfan
@folkfan
13 years ago
357 posts
I wish I'd discovered the dulcimer earlier since it is an instrument that I can play in spite of the way my brain is wired. In grade school, I pretty much gave up on the idea of actually learning to play an instrument and now there isn't enough time to learn all the songs I'd like to learn, but I do enjoy what I have learned.
Ken Hulme
Ken Hulme
@ken-hulme
13 years ago
2,111 posts