TERI WEST
TERI WEST
@teri-west
10 years ago
25 posts

Stephanie, I would love to find a tab of Angel Gabriel!!!

Steven Berger
Steven Berger
@steven-berger
11 years ago
143 posts

DAc tuning is my favorite tuning (so far). I'm still learning how to play the dulcimer (I play noter/drone style). Here are 3 tunes I'm working on: Which Side Are You On, Yigdal, and Van Diemen's Land.

Stephanie Stuckwisch
Stephanie Stuckwisch
@stephanie-stuckwisch
12 years ago
45 posts

My favorite tuning. In additional to the songs already mentioned - Wondrous Love (also can be played in DAg), Blackest Crow, Star in the East and Angel Gabriel.

Ken Hulme
Ken Hulme
@ken-hulme
12 years ago
2,126 posts

Here's enough for a complete set of Aeoliantunes:

Shady Grove

Nottamun Town (Jean Ritchie)

Black is the Color of My True Love's Hair

The Foggy Dew (Irish)

Star of County Down

The Parting Glass

When Johnny Comes Marching Home -- a really eerie and mournful version

Wayfaring Stranger

Sam
Sam
@sam
12 years ago
169 posts

Hey Dennis ... I was tickled to see this thread. I love DAC and wish I knew more songs to try in that tuning.

--
The Dulcimer. If you want to preserve it, jam it!
john p
john p
@john-p
12 years ago
173 posts

Or even DAc, as we nit-pickers call it Grin.gif

john p

John Shaw
John Shaw
@john-shaw
12 years ago
60 posts

I totally agree with Strumelia's point about the strong resonance of the open strings in this tuning. So much more expressive and powerful than the sound of capoing on the first fret in DAd to play Aeolian tunes. A lot of the "soul" of the dulcimer resides in this tuning!

Robin Thompson
Robin Thompson
@robin-thompson
12 years ago
1,429 posts

Cool, Dennis!

DAC can give just that right haunting sound to some tunes.

Mary Z. Cox
Mary Z. Cox
@mary-z-cox
12 years ago
62 posts