@hugssandi
5 months ago
178 posts

*WELCOME SHERRI!*

Nytngale
@nytngale
5 months ago
1 posts

Hi! My name is Sherri and I am new to fotmd.  I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my new dulcimer from Blue Lion this coming week. I placed acoustic guitar many years ago and originally heard my first dulcimer music at a folk art show about 25 years ago. I always wanted to play and just never could find the time as I spent much of my younger adult life working and completing my education. I'm now at a point in my life where I have a bit more time. My mother and brother are both musicians - brother plays guitar and mother played lap and pedal steel. Mom passed in March at the age of 92 and I decided there was no better way to keep her memory alive than through music and I chose to use a bit of my inheritance to launch my interest in playing dulcimer. I look forward to learning from those with experience on the forum!

updated by @nytngale: 10/23/16 06:36:46PM
Lynne Gill
@lynne-gill
7 months ago
7 posts

paulscottrobson:

I'm new as well, have just bought my first MD after thinking about it for ages, having tinkered with a Strumstick type device. At the moment still at the "Go and tell Aunt Nancy" (what you folks across the water call "Go tell Aunt Rhody" ... we have an extra half-beat on you there ....)

It's a small world, I'm from Norfolk, England as well. I'm semi retired now ; I used to teach children with Special Needs (of varying types .....) and I now write Computer Software occasionally, contract work. 

I'm currently working on a (free definitely open source probably) visual TAB player for Dulcimers to help me learn, basically you feed TAB and/or Chords into it plus some timing data and it plays it back at you showing the TAB,  you can change the speed etc. If you've ever used Yousician, a bit like that, except there's no audio detection of what you're playing.